How To Confuse Business and Pleasure

Monday

I’m at my desk when the phone rings. It’s the astronomer, calling to invite me out for a romantic meal. Naturally, I accept, before signing off in the usual way: ‘Bye darling. Love you.’

As soon as I hang up, the phone rings again. This time, it’s my boss. She immediately launches into a bloodthirsty tirade. I remain on autopilot throughout the onslaught, grunting periodically, hopelessly distracted by the prospect of an intimate candlelit dinner.

‘In short,’ the boss concludes, ‘I expect that report on my desk by morning.’

‘Right-o.’

‘Until tomorrow, then.’

‘Yes, until tomorrow. Bye darling. Love you.’

7 Responses to How To Confuse Business and Pleasure

  1. Hannah says:

    Well, it’s always nice to hear. If that helps.

  2. 100 Words says:

    Sadly, the boss didn’t see it that way …

  3. stinkypaw says:

    Good one! Hope your boss has a sense of humour… a good sense of humour that is!

  4. weenie says:

    LOL – so that’s not gonna get you a pay rise?

  5. mad muthas says:

    oh no! that’s like calling your teacher ‘mummy’. well – it might make her warm to you if she thinks you’ve got a HUGE crush on her …

  6. 100 Words says:

    S: She doesn’t

    W: Correct.

    MM: I suspect I’ve long since burned my bridges

Leave a Reply

