Schadenfreude

Following the unfortunate incident in the toilet, there’s now a two-inch divot running down the middle of my forehead. Thankfully, the skin has not been ruptured, but the indenture is of sufficient depth to cause both pain and embarrassment.

Of course, the fact I have a relief-map of the Mariana Trench on my noggin is not wasted on my colleagues.

‘Morning, Mr Merrick,’ says the comedian on reception, as I walk into the building.

I try to scowl but it hurts, so I don’t. ‘I’m fine, Terry. Thanks for asking.’

‘No you’re not. You’re head looks like a baby’s arse.’

11 Responses to Schadenfreude

  1. rivergirlie says:

    perhaps he was referring to the exquisite softness of your skin?

  2. stinkypaw says:

    maybe it was your rosey cheeks?!

  3. Found this via Allys blog. Wonderful idea! Blogrolled.

  4. Murph says:

    Perhaps the bog door was a result of a butterfly flapping wings in South America.

  5. 100 Words says:

    R + S: My complexion is as ruddy as the face of an alcoholic judge (eh?)

    FC: Any one who’s cynical on a mercenary basis is most welcome in these parts. Consider the favour returned!

    M: Ha! I hadn’t thought of that. Now it’s becomes clear. A chain of events has been set in motion, that’s way beyond my control. Thank you, and welcome.

  6. Spinny says:

    Your receptionist is clearly a lot more cultured and entertaining than the average of the breed.

    (No offence to any lurking receptionists)

  7. We have this proverb “Vahingonilo on paras ilo”, translated as somethink like Schadenfreude is the best joy.
    But if somebody would say my forehead looks like a baby’s arse, I’d definitely take that as a compliment.

  8. One day you’re going to laugh at this. Really. LOL

  9. ally says:

    you can always refer to it as a treasure map… but, i believe Murph had a great point about the butterfly in South America.

  10. 🙂 Why thankyou. And I’m glad my Bristollian based lifestyle brings you some kind of pervese joy.

    Maybe it’s time to take out all the butterflies?

  11. 100 Words says:

    S: Nice to see you. Appearances deceiving. He’s like MJ Fox in The Secret of My Success

    TTF: brilliant. i’ll save that for a rainy day

    ATM: Hmmm. Reserving judgement on that one

    A+F: Butterflies are bastards

Leave a Reply

