Mehallabiyyah, Anyone?

As you well know, it’s party season. School’s out for Easter, and the children are out in force, cavorting through the streets like Eastern Bloc revolutionaries. I walk into a restaurant where 15 of these stubby, prepubescent rabble-rousers have gathered for a birthday bash. Nothing wrong with that per se, except for the fact that the ‘restaurant’ is a kebab house.

A kebab house?

For a 10-year-old’s birthday party?

What the fuck’s going on?

What the fuck are they eating?

Sponge-cake with chilli sauce?

Blancmange and cock-sized pickled gherkins?

Lord, give me strength.

And some of that jelly in Pitta.

18 Responses to Mehallabiyyah, Anyone?

  1. Mangonel says:

    Cock-sized? Really? Where was this again?

  2. Mangonel says:

    Fuck I’m so predictable.

  3. Mamma Loves says:

    Seriously, I may have to consider moving.

  4. St Jude says:

    What happended to good old fashioned parties with pass the parcel and pin the tail on the donkey? Parents! They want to do the ‘stuff’ but without any thought or hassle. By the way sweetie has someone rattled your cage today, I don’t think I’ve ever ‘heard’ you swear so much…

  5. stinkypaw says:

    You read like an old grumpy man! Turning 30 hit hard! 😉

  6. ally says:

    some of the kids nowadays are simply spoiled. there’s a mtv show called “sweet 16” and some of these kids spends over +$100,000 for a single night of partying. insane,

  7. After the paryt ins done they’ll have diarohea, beer bellies and a strange feeling of guilt.
    What brilliant pracitise for the real world later on though!

  8. Hellojed says:

    Gotta love those kebabs. Was it after their Confirmations I wonder? ‘Tis the season…

  9. rivergirlie says:

    i read a fascinating book on this very subject …

  10. modobs says:

    Maybe it’s because the kid wanted to eat kebab for his birthday. Eeeeewwwww…

  11. “Sponge-cake with chilli sauce?”

    I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

  12. Hey, where are you? Do we have to send a posse out to tear you away from the cock-sized gherkins or what?

  13. Jane Henry says:

    ha, round here they’re into karaokes for eight year olds, or stretch limos for ten year olds.

    My poor deprived children get the trad treatment in the main, though I am taking the eleven year old out for pasta…

    It’s a mad world my masters.

    But funnier when you’re in it!

    jane

    PS funny, that I seem to have heard of that book wot River Girlie mentioned….

  14. rivergirlie says:

    yes – shameless, aren’t i?

  15. rivergirlie says:

    oi – you owe us at least a thousand words. come back, please.

  16. My Favorite Blogs

    […] While surfing aimlessly today I came across this site: […]

  17. Where are you? Come back!

  18. Isn’t the party season over yet? Where did you disappear?

Leave a comment